Review CDrama: Nirvana in Fire 琅琊榜

In fourth century China, there was war between feudal Northern Wei and Southern Liang dynasties. The Liang commander general, Lin Xie, his 19-year-old son, Lin Shu, and the Chiyan Army defeated hostile Wei forces. However, when the Chiyan were weakened from the battle, they were massacred under the Emperor’s orders. Unknown to the king, the Chiyan were framed by political rivals, who claimed that they were conspiring a rebellion with the then-crown prince, Prince Qi. As a result, Prince Qi and members of the Lin manor were also unjustly executed, with Qi’s mother, Consort Chen, and Lin Shu’s mother, committing suicide. ~ Credit: Wikipedia

I’ve previously mentioned in another post (here) that I may write a First Look post about Chinese drama Nirvana in Fire as I had just started to watch it. However it was too long and the story was complicated for me to just write a first look as I felt it would be unfair to the drama as it deserves so much more.

In a year I do watch a lot of dramas, whether it be a drama from China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea or Taiwan…. I watch a lot. But I have to say in the year 2015 Nirvana in Fire has to be the BEST drama!! The story was well written and executed, not to mention the cinematography was so damn GOOD!! The drama is visually beautiful, this is something the Mainland/China does well when it is on point (or so bad/cheesy when it’s not). NiF was definitely a big budget production, it was pretty obvious right? Given that Chinese actor & singer a-lister Hu Ge 胡歌 is headlining this 50+ episode drama.
NiF 琅琊榜 is based on a Chinese novel of the same name by Hai Yan 海宴, the novel was split into three volumes with the first being released in 2007, second in 2011 and the third in 2014.

The above mini plot doesn’t give anything away as the story has so much depth that the above is just a bit of background information. There is a more detailed plot on Wikipedia but I just felt that it’ll ruin it for those who have not watched it yet.

Reading that Hu Ge was in this drama I just knew it would be good…. Hu Ge does good historic dramas. Hu Ge playing 林殊/梅長蘇 & 蘇哲 was a solid performance in this drama however all the other actors and actresses were solid as well!!

There was one particular actor I came to love, and he goes by the name Wang Kai 王凯 who plays Prince Jingyan 靖王/萧景琰. I don’t think I’ve seen him anything before but I can tell you now I will probably go and watch stuff he has been in or be on the look out for his upcoming dramas. His character’s bromance with Hu Ge’s character was off the charts!! Who needs romance when there is BROMANCE!! There was one particular scene towards the end that showed it so well!!

There was also one other actor that I fell for and I’m pretty sure he also captured the hearts of all the viewers!! I’m not quite sure if its the actor that I adore or if its the character he plays or if it’s both but what I do know is that I just adore this kid!! At the tender age of 16 years old, he is the adorable Wu Lei 吳磊  who plays the character 飛流. His character is loyal, strong, likes to play and generally just a kid who loves his Su Ge Ge 蘇哥哥. 

Might I add the other reason why I love this drama was because all the female characters were strong, brave and independent , this drama had no space for a damsel in distress.

Check out the lovely pictures below and if you have seen this, let me know what you thought of it!

 

S.

Published by

One thought on “Review CDrama: Nirvana in Fire 琅琊榜

  1. Well, the kid is obviously adorable, and so are the male leads, but I wonder why you don’t mention Meng Zhi and Lin Chen 🙂 They are responsible for most of the funny parts in the drama 😀

Leave a Reply

