Anime Alert: Ajin 亜人

The story is about a student named Nagai Kei, who discovers he is an immortal “Ajin” when he is hit by a truck. He becomes a wanted person because the Ajins are considered criminals and the only person who is there to support him is his best friend, Kaito. ~ Credit: Wikipedia.com

How have I not come across this in the manga format before???????

To expand on the plot taken from wiki (above), Kei seems like a normal 17 year old Japanese high school student who likes to day dream a bit. I say normal because he may appear to be but there is something about him that just doesn’t seem quite right with his personality.
We’re not given much information about what Ajins are, all we know is that they are immortal and that the first one to appear was in Africa 17 years ago. I’ll leave it at that as I really don’t want to spoil too much of the plot and background story but this is definitely an interesting watch.

Just a bit of background information before I ramble on about my thoughts.
The manga is written by Sakurai Gamon and from what I can find out Ajin (aka Ajin: Demi-Human) is the only thing he’s done. The manga was first released in 2012, being serialised in the seinen manga magazine good! Afternoon. To this date I think only around 35 chapters have been released, amounting to seven volumes.

In June 2015 it was announced that the manga will be adapted into an anime film trilogy. The films will be directed by Ando Hiroaki and written by Seko Hiroshi, part one was released on 27th November 2015 and part two has a release date of 16th May 2016.

This past weekend I watched part one and…… I LOVED IT!!! It was so good! There was something about it that I loved! The story was interesting and I am on the fence of which side I wanted to be on as both sides seem to have a hidden agenda and both seem evil. The again our leading man (kid) is a twisted kind of guy…. but it’s somewhat refreshing to see a character like this that I am not completely creeped out by but find intriguing . I really don’t want to spoil too much so I won’t go into too much detail but what I will say is that I haven’t been this excited about an anime of this kind of genre, it’s a seinen action adventure manga with some horror, mystery and supernatural stuff going on.

After watching the movie I said ‘that’s it I’m now going to read the manga!! I can’t wait for part two to come out!!!’ So I googled the manga and found that the manga was adapted into a anime series, with the first episode airing on 16th January 2016!! So the movies and anime will overlap with each other!! The more I read about the anime series the more excited I got… Ando and Seko who are working on the movies will also be doing the anime series!! Great news to my ears as the last thing I want is that the series will conflict with the movies!! The series will be 13 episodes, so I do expect that there will be a season two! So I assume the current series will basically be the movies but expanded.

So if you like something that has action, an interesting backbone and filled with questions, this might be right up your alley. I’d say this is definitely more geared towards the males out there (well it is being serialised a seinen mag)
NOW GO WATCH IT!!! Episode two aired yesterday and HAS BEEN SUBBED ALREADY!! WOOP WOOP

S.

Published by

Leave a Reply

