Anime Alert: Haikyūū!! ハイキュー!!

My new segment!!!! O___o OMG!!! hahaha If you’re a follower of this blog you’ll realise that I can be a bit lazy when it comes to updating this but when it’s regarding something I am enthusiastic about I will definitely bog about it! I absolutely love my anime and manga!!

I’ve noticed that I tend to really like mangas/anime in the sporting or food genre. Maybe its because they are always going to be really easy reads and can potentially be quite short. I make it sound like I am opposed to long mangas but in fact I love them HOWEVER an end will always come and I just think sporting and food mangas tend to end well.

It’s been a while since I have come across a sporting manga that I have enjoyed this much!! I know I’ve said that sporting manga can be really good reads but there is a flaw…. they all are very very similar in the sense that the main character is usually a newb in the sport but will become the one to lead the team to victory. So the key to distinguish whether it’ll be good or bad is all in the story telling.

With this new anime I want you all to watch, I can say the story telling is GOOD! Yes it does have the typical newb main character and the typical other main character who is really skilled but it works, its good!

Let introduce to you Haikyuu!! ハイキュー!!, a volleyball series about Hinata Shoyo who becomes determined to go to Karasuno High School and become the ace for the volleyball team. However once there he realises Karasuno volleyball team is not the team he once thought it was and on top of that he now has to become team mates with his arch nemesis!! This is not just a one man manga, its about team work, hard work and the growth of these players individually and as a team. To top it off Haikyuu is also REALLY FUNNY!! I’ve had many ‘laugh out loud’ moments while reading the manga…… and some of those moments were while I was reading it at work!!

This anime was officially released on 6th April 2014 and premiered on MBS with 25 episodes planned.

As I write this blog I’ve come to realise the why I like this so much and its because this manga/anime reminds me of my all time favourite sporting manga/anime…. Slam Dunk スラムダンク (if you haven’t watched or read this WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!!!)

 

S.

Published by

Leave a Reply

