A-Lin (黃麗玲) vs Kim Ji Eun

Do you remember in my post 如果沒有你 I had stated that the two songs I was listening to constantly had turned to three songs. Well that song is A-lin (黃麗玲)’s 今晚你想念的人是不是我 (translate roughly to Am I the one you’re thinking about tonight?)

I first heard A-lin’s song when her album Diva 天生歌姬 came out but I never really listened to the song that is until my current muse Janice Yan 閻奕格 sang the song on Taiwanese talent show 超級星光大道. It then hit me that the song sounded very very familiar!! I’m quite good at stuff like this, when I think a song sounds like something else it usually is the case. So what did I do?? I went to Google for the answer!! LOL

Did Google provide me with an answer?? Well of course it did!! That is why Google is so loved!! Cause its AWESOME!! ^____^

To be honest I’m gutted I didn’t figure it out myself first…. because the original artist of the song is an artist that I like very very much!! As you have guessed its Kim Ji Eun (well it is stated in the title).

A little background information for you first. Kim Ji Eun is a member of Korean group Lady Collection, she was also a soloist under the stage name Ji Eun when she was under management/record lable YG Entertainment (yes she was part of the YG family). What is even more surprising was the fact that she was not part of YG as a artist but as a vocal trainer to several YG big names! Its a shame YG didn’t promote her well and she eventually left YG to join Lion Entertainment (home of artists such as IU) and forming female group Lady Collection.

Back to the topic of the post! So the original version of 今晚你想念的人是不是我 is Kim Ji Eun’s

Below are MV’s for both:

Kim Ji Eun’s 어제와 다른 오늘 Yesterday is Different from Today

A-Lin 黃麗玲’s 今晚你想念的人是不是我

So what do you think after listening to both? This is the few times where I actually like both the original and cover version!! Usually for me its that I like the original version a lot more!! I love Ji Eun’s version but I love the fact that I can understand A-lin’s!! The lyrics make sense as well and A-lin’s voice is just amazing! I would say Ji Eun’s has more emotion and feel to it, and that A-lin’s is more about vocal ability, not that Ji Eun hasn’t got good vocals, she has amazing vocals!!


Published by

Leave a Reply

