Bitter…. I Feel Bitter!

As you all may know from a previous post, I had mentioned that I was about to go full-time, but what I didn’t mention was the process, well here I will tell you.

Currently I do 16hrs a week [weekends] admin for a retail company, I have been doing it for about a year now [was previously a sales advisor for the same company for just over 3years] and about a month ago a full-time admin manager position for a brand new store [that will be opening in spring 2010] came about and I went for it. I had gotten comfy in my current role and was actually seeking for more [or I was going to go aboard], so it was pretty much perfect timing. BUT… but then came another role exactly the same as the one I had applied for, but it was in my current store and the title was for admin manager it was just admin sales [which is really stupid! because I’m getting paid the same!], I went for it as well.

Anyways the interview for the ‘new store’ went really really well!!! I know I had impressed them, admins in my store do a lot more than the admins in the other westend stores and I’m just a weekender [normally weekend admins just do the basic/the usual but no I can do loads!]. They had told me it’ll be at least two weeks before I find out if I was successful or not as they had another person to interview.

The very next day I had a rather informal interview with my current store manager and a floor manager, they know me, they know how I work and from what they had been hinting, they wanted me. So it was pretty much a piece of cake. The main thing for me about the role in my current store was money, I had suspected that one of the reasons that they store manager that changed the title of the role/job was because he wanted to pay less and as I know the most ‘admin’ can get is £££ in my store I was going to ask for that straight away, originally I had set a lower target but with the competition of the other store I was going to ask for the max.

Two days after the interview at my store, I got a call from the store manager saying the other interviewee was not successful and that I will be offered the role and how I felt. Of course I said I was happy and that there were details to iron out before any acceptances took place [money!], he said he will call me when he finds out with the higher ups about how much he can offer me. Five minutes later he called back and offered me the amount I was going to ask for, basically the highest amount admin can get in my store, I was surprised that I didn’t even have to ask for it. I thought about it for a bit and accepted the offer [though if I am honest I regretted it as soon as I did]. Reasons for my accepting it was because it is a store I know well, I know the staff, I know how the store works/runs, but regrets were that the other on, the new store excited me and it would be a new enviroment.

 Whats done is done, but nothing officially [or so I thought] had been done yet, so two days ago when I got a call from work, from a work mate of mine, saying the lady that interviewed me for the new store called and asked for my number, I got a little excited!!! My work mate also thinks she is going to offer me the role as she had slyly asked my work mate if my current store offered me the position or not. So now I’m really excited…..

So when I finally speak to the lady she tells me that I……………………… didn’t get the job ¬____________¬ GUTTED!!!! I felt so gutted when I heard those words [of course she didn’t say those exact words]. Before I could ask if there was any particular reason as to why, she said I was really really good in the interview and that I had really impressed them but I had only lost out to another admin manager who had been doing the role for three years!!! I asked if that was the only factor in me losing, she replied with something along the lines of : yes it was really only the experience the other girl had over you as you both admin wise can do the same things.

I just felt bitter with that answer!!! Its one of those answers where you don’t know where to improve on for next time, they’re tell me I only lost out on experience and everything else was great!!! Its like all those rejection letters you get from jobs you have applied for saying you was not successful because you didn’t have enough experience!!!!!! But this one gave me the interview gave me that little ray of hope only to tell me NO! ¬____¬ I felt bitter!!!!

So I went on a shopping spree [that same day] and spent loads of money!!!! Felt slightly better.

Published by

Leave a Reply

