Khalil’s Timeless Pieces

I know I’ve said I’ll be posting my reviews on Nicholas Teo & Tank’s new albums, but I was listening [still am listening to it] to Khalil Fong’s new albumso I thought I might as well do it now. My reviews are generally wishy washy though hahahahaha

This I believe is the sixth album, well I’m not sure you can say its a sixth album as its more like a special? a compilation? anyhow its a new album.

The album is called ‘Timeless’ and its full of covers that traces musical inspirations, its songs that he grew up listening to and songs that encouraged and influenced him to become who he is today. He always had the plan to release a cover album ever since he debuted in 2005 and now was the time for it.

The album consist of ten songs, English, Mandarin, Cantonese and even Spanish.

01. You Are The Sunshine of My Life feat. 黃韻玲 (O.S. Stevie Wonder)
02. Nothing’s Gonna Change My Love For You (O.S. Glenn Medeiros)
03. Bad (O.S. Michael Jackson)
04. Kwang Chiu 狂潮 (O.S. 關菊英SusannaKwan)
05. La Bamba (O.S. Ritchie Valens)
06. Red Bean 紅豆 (O.S. 王菲 Faye Wang)
07. Georgia on My Mind (O.S. Ray Charles)
08. Remember 記得 (O.S. 張惠妹Amei Chang)
09. Wonderful Tonight (O.S. Eric Clapton)
10. Moon River (O.S. Andy William)

Looking that the track list, he really does have a good sense of music doesn’t he?

Its a lovely album, he rearranged all the songs and made it his own without losing the originality of the song. I particularly his version of Faye Wong 王菲’s Red Bean 紅豆, Glenn Medeiro’s Nothing’s Gonna Change My Love For You and Eric Clapton’s Wonderful Tonight. The originals of these songs I really like anyway and Khalil’s version did not let the songs down.

Also I think [please correct me if I’m wrong] its the first time he has actually recorded a song in Cantonese right? As in put a Cantonese song on his album?

I give the album a 9.5/10 => a must listen. Why not 10/10? I can’t be that biased!! LOL

WP-postban

Published by

Leave a Reply

